• New York Intraocular Lens Implant Society

    An Alliance of Leaders in Cataract & Refractive Surgery

  • About NYIOLIS

    The 4th Oldest, Still Running, IntraOcular Lens Society in the World



    The intraocular lens (IOL) implant was a technological breakthrough developed by Harold Ridley of England in 1950. Ahead of his time, he faced intense resistance from the academic community -- as did many pioneering cataract surgeons over the next three decades. Shunned from medical meetings, implant surgeons formed IOL societies to advance the science.


    The first society, co-founded by Ridley himself, was the Intra-Ocular Implant Club in 1966. The second IOL society was founded in the US in 1974: the American Intra-Ocular Implant Society, A year later, the European Implant Lens Council was formed as an amalgamation of the European national IOL societies. During that era, New York City was (and still is) a hotbed of cataract surgery innovation, home to the founder of phacoemulsifcation, Charles Kelman, and in 1978 the NYIOLIS was formed. It is believed to be the 4th oldest, still running IOL society in the world.


    1. 1966 - Intra-Ocular Implant Club  
      Now the International Intra-Ocular Implant Club (IIIC)
      283 current international members
    2. 1974 - American Intra-Ocular Implant Society 
      Now the American Society of Cataract and Refractive Surgery (ASCRS).  
      9000 current international members.
    3. 1975 - European Implant Lens Council  
      Now the European Society of Cataract and Refractive Surgery (ESCRS).
      5000 current international members.
    4. 1978 - New York IOL Implant Society (NYIOLIS) 
      36 current US members.


    Today, ASCRS and ESCRS are the world's largest international organizations for cataract and refractive surgeons with open memberships. The IIIC and the NYIOLIS have retained their prestigious, invite-only exclusivity into the present day. The NYIOLIS memberships is comprised of pioneers in the field of ophthalmology, including 5 past presidents of ASCRS.

  • New York IOL Implant Society Officers

    2017-2019 Term

    Howard Kornstein, MD


    Howard Kornstein practices in White Plains and is the current society president

    Mark Pyfer, MD

    Vice President

    Hailing from the greater Philadelphia area, Mark Pyfer is the current treasurer

    Cynthia Matossian, MD


    Cynthia Matossian practices in NJ and PA

    Herbert Gould, MD

    Founding Secretary

    One of the original founders of the society in 1978, Herbert Gould has maintained meticulous meeting minutes for decades.

  • Our Membership

    By Election

    John Aljian, MD

    Lisa B. Arbisser, MD

    Associate Member

    Leonard M. Bley, MD

     Douglas Buxton, MD

    Past President 2005-2007

    Christopher T. Coad, MD

    Nancy H. Coles, MD

    Past President 2007-2009

    Arthur M. Cotlier, MD

    Mary Davidian, MD

    Robert Ditkoff, MD

    Past President 2013-2015 

    Jack Dodick, MD

    Founding Member

    Past President 1978-1979

    Eric Donnenfeld, MD

    Paul H. Ernest, MD

    Robert Friedman, MD

    B. David Gorman, MD

    Robert Kellan, MD

    Associate Member

    Stephen D. Klyce, PhD

    Paul Koch, MD

    Sebastian Lesniak, MD

    Jerome H. Levy, MD

    Founding Member

    Jay Lippman, MD

    Past President 2011-2013

    Maurice Luntz, MD


    Eli Marcovici, MD

    Marguerite McDonald, MD

    Marc Michelson, MD

    Anita Nevyas-Wallace, MD

    Jeffrey Nightingale, MD

    Anthony Pisacano, MD

    Founding Member

    Tal Raviv, MD

    Past President


    Robert Ritch, MD

    Kenneth Rosenthal, MD

    Past President 2009-2011

    Steven G. Safran, MD

    Liviu B. Saimovici, MD

    Associate Member

    Scott M. Spector, MD

    Larry Sperber, MD

    Steven Stetson, MD

  • 2018-2019 Meeting Schedule

    #1 - Fall 2018

    September 7th

    #2 - Fall 2018

    November 1st

    #3 - Winter 2019

    January 3rd

    #4 - Winter 2019

    March 7th

    #5 - Spring 2019

    May 9th



    Cafe Boulud

    #1- Fall 2015

    #2 - Fall 2015

    #3 - Winter 2016

    January 14th

    #4 - Winter 2016

    March 10th

    #5 - Spring 2016

    May 12th